Cheetah pastel painting.

cheetah 500 pi

Miriam’s Art is pleased to release her Cheetah pastel painting.  I painted this painting on days of extreme anxiety.  I tried positive counter thoughts to ease that anxiety.

The golden brown eyes of the cheetah draw the viewers eye to the center and middle ground of the painting.  The beige yellow fur reflects the golden brow of the eyes.  The black spots contrast markedly against the beige of the fur.  The beige of the background blends well with the beige gold of this lesser cat.

I drew at a time of extreme anxiety.  New demons and old fears.  The attention I gave to the proportion of the distance between the eyes and the length of the nose and the height of the brow absorbed me and made me forget my fears.  I was at peace.  The attention to the beige and yellow made me focus and forget my fears.  The attention to the black spots made me focus and forget my fears.  As I painted I felt the anxiety drain away.

Technically this lesser cat was a challenge.  But I am finally getting the proportions right!  The distance between the eyes compared to the length of the nose and the height of the brow are important.  My family is my greatest critic and they say this is my best lesser cat yet!

The cheetah is endangered and it’s biggest predator is man.  Also encroachment on it’s habitat by farming is putting this lesser cat at higher risk.  The cheetah is not considered a big cat because it can’t roar.  It’s missing a bone in it’s throat to do this.  It is known as the fastest feline in the world.  It has also been tamed often, sometimes as a hunting animal.  Please protect the cheetah now!

This is an approximately 12×18″ pastel painting.  It will be matted to a smaller size though.  It is available for purchase.  Please see the Shop now option on the top tool bar and choose Portfolio.

Hopefully you have appreciated this painting rather than a post about my healing journey.  I am too busy today to do  my usual healing reading.  Please accept this painting in it’s place.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment