Gannets Pastel Painting.

gannets 500 pi

Miriam’s Art is pleased to release her Gannets pastel painting.  She drew and painted on days of anxiety.  The painting helped her forget.

The black of the markings contrast markedly with the white beige of the gannet.  It is striking and draws the eye immediately.  The blue background contrasts well with the white and beige of the head and neck.  The grey of the bills contrasts as well.  The middle ground is the body of the two gannets.  They are embracing.

I drew at a time of anxiety.  I didn’t do as well with the proportions because of this.  The day of painting was with anxiety as well.  Luckily there were large areas that required little thought.  Today was calm enough to put the last touches to the heads and allow the contrast to stand out.  I am pleased with the painting.  I did forget for a while.  I am blocked and am therefore posting art instead of my healing journey.  I have named the abuser.  This has taken a lot out of me because I have to decide whether to file a formal complaint or not.  I will decide on Tuesday maybe.  Courage is what I need.  Courage!

The blue background was a challenge.  I could have used soft pastels but opted for my Derwent Fine Art Pencils.  They are getting short though and I will have to buy more soon!  The black markings contrasted well and I am pleased with it.  I took care to put more detail on the body.

The Gannet is one of the largest sea birds in the North Atlantic.  It was declining in numbers but is on the rebound.  It is well known for diving into water to fish for it’s food, sometimes from more than a 100′ above the water.

This is a 12×18″ pastel painting and is available unframed or framed.  Please see the Shop tab above and click on Portfolio.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

