Elephant Watercolor.

elephant 500 pi

Miriam’s Art is pleased to exhibit her Elephant watercolor painting.  It is World Watercolor Month!  She painted this elephant at a time of moderate stress.  It soothed her anxious mind.

The glint on the dark grey elephant’s eye immediately draws the viewers attention.  The eye contrasts well with the different hues of grey of the elephants face, ear and partial trunk.  The dark ridges of the elephants skin contrast well with the surrounding grays.  The stark white of the elephant’s tusk contrasts well with the surrounding grays.  The gray elephants ear in the the background and the white tusk is in the foreground.  The overall grey of the elephant is very attractive.

I painted at a time when I was facing my fear of going for a walk.  I saw a suspicious man who made me fear.  The thought that they aren’t after me soothed that fear.  Painting helped my subconscious deal with that fear.  It also prepared me for painting my best friend’s dog’s portrait.  As I painted for my daughter’s I thought of my friend.  The fear of seeing my friend and perhaps identifying her as my friend to bad people is the next fear I’ll have to deal with as my next painting will be her dog’s portrait.  I painted this painting for my daughter.  If you paint for one daughter you have to paint for them all!  LOL.  Now they will all have some of my work framed and on their wall!

I used an initial gray wash for this painting.  It worked well except for the ear.  I had to work a lot around the ear to get that large light gray area.  The frisket helped to keep the glint in the eye and the tusk white.  The wrinkles in the trunk were relatively easy to paint dark over the lighter gray.

This painting is not for sale.  It’s for my daughter who loves elephants!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

