A new relaxation technique…

nathan-anderson-206716 unsplash 500 pi

Miriam speaks of a new relaxation technique.  It can be used at home or in a park when you are feeling stressed.  I also include a couple of variations to it.  (Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash)

Lately I have been feeling stressed.  Doing a lot of things with appointments, sometimes more than one per day and two days in a row.  This causes anxiety for me.

The relaxation technique is as follows.  Sit in a comfortable position on something comfortable and think of a river in the forest.  Now find a rock beside the river and sit down.  As you are sitting there you notice leaves floating on the river.  Many leaves.  Pick one up and put a worry onto it.  Now place it back in the stream and watch it float away with your worry.  Pick up another leaf and place a different worry on the leaf.  Place it back in the stream and watch it float away.  Keep doing this with your worries.  Sometimes you may see a group of leaves stuck together.  Pick one up and look at the worry.  As you do this watch all the other worries wash away.  Place your leaf in the stream and watch it wash away all the way down the stream.  Be still.  Think of the stream and all your worries are gone!

A variation to this relaxation technique is to fill balloons with your worry and then release them all into the air.  And your worries are gone.  Or fill train box cars with your worries and then watch the train leave and all your worries go with it.

I have decided to incorporate a twenty minute mindfulness session into my day twice a week.  Then I may do it three times a week.  But at first I want to get a routine going.  At the same time I can watch my thoughts and see what my mind is worried about.  Watch my thoughts and figure out what is bothering me.

Until next time…enjoy your evening!

Leave a Reply

